At the end of last week, I was looking into doing book covers for “Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland”. I had hoped to start this week, but a family emergency delayed my progress. I did however look into some past covers:

Evolution of Alice in Wonderland covers, showing how the style of the book cover for this novel has evolved.

Celebrating over 150 years of Alice in Wonderland, another site showing various book cover adaptations over the years.

Various old books and their covers ‘now and then’.

I did some brief sketching of ideas. The reasoning behind the first one was just to see if I could make an ‘A’ out of an ace and make it legible, and the second was prompted out of my research that I couldn’t find a book cover for the novel with the character of the caterpillar on it. I was trying to find something that hadn’t really been looked at before (it’s not the best photo so I tried to make it a little darker):

Sketches

Later it was suggested that I look into posters instead because there is already so much that has been done about this book, in particular for the Australian company Bell Shakespeare which takes Shakespeare’s plays and puts them in a modern Australian context (critical incident). This could still incorporate my desire to hand make something, but I could also make typography and photographic versions to show a variety. 3 were suggested, so I’m thinking of doing one of the 3 plays I know the best (which would be A Midsummer Night’s Dream, Romeo and Juliet, and Macbeth – I’m leaning towards A Midsummer Night’s Dream because of its vivid content and long title to work with) and interpret it in 3 different ways. Here are some examples of previous poster art for the company:

Macbeth (by Andrew Firth):

AndrewFirth_PrintMedia_Submission

Much Ado About Nothing (by Moon Communications):

bell_shakespeare_2

Henry IV (artist unknown):

4581116-16x9-340x191

The Winter’s Tale (illustration by Kat Chadwick)

A Winters Tale Kat Chadwick

