This week we had to give a presentation on our chosen site, identify its site map, it’s pros and cons and give our own proposal for a re-designed site. For my site proposal, I mostly focused on working on a logo and making the branding a major part of the site’s design. The interface was secondary due to time constraints. I made a brand further referencing the ‘science’ reference in the company’s name using a molecular structure, and then implanted this into the site design. This was my rough prototype of a site header using this kind of idea:

Image

The concern was that doing this may confuse the viewer, as they may think that they are dealing with a company that produces scientific products. In terms of interface design, the design of my other two group members was a lot better: they basically had the navigation at the side and made sure the site didn’t need so much scrolling, like this:

Image

We are trying to find a way to use this structure but style it so that the brand mark / site identity comes through in the theme. As part of this, one of the group members took a shape she’d used in her interim proposal and created a better logo which doesn’t reference science to avoid confusion like this:

Image

We hope to use the arrow shape within the site design in a similar manner to how I used the atoms in my proposal. I think the feedback from the interim proposal was really helpful as it has led to us moving away from the ‘science’ idea that the name implies into something a bit more fresh and modern.

