Once again I went back to my ‘B Line’ and ‘Ink Well’ logos to alter them with some final suggestions. Firstly, I altered the placement of the train in the station sign to finalise it like this (Implement stage):

Image

And I differentiated the mini icons for ‘Ink Well’ by making them different colours, while keeping the gold strip constant within all of them like this (Implement stage):

Image

I may need to do a bit more colour testing but I think these are the basic colours I will stick with. I then went back to ‘Sydney MCS’. I cleaned up the bird logo a little bit then moved on to text to accompany it. I tried handwriting it but it did not work too well, so I experimented with a handwritten font called ‘Lucinda Handwriting Italic’ and altered the kerning and placement of the letters to make the word ‘Multicultural’ (Ideate stage). I then tried it in multiple formations including these (Prototype stage):

Image

I added a line to the first two to try and tie the text in better with the lines of the bird, but I think the line makes the text too rigid compared to the sketchy bird so I decided to extend the last concept (Select stage).

I added the colours red and blue: Red and blue being some of the most popular colours on world flags and also being on the Australian flag, referencing the diverse cultures that Sydney MCS works with (Research stage). I may need to experiment with colour placement a bit more but this was the best result of my first experiments (Prototype stage):

Image

This week I learned how to make sure my drawn design doesn’t lose its proportions when I change its scale, as whenever I changed the size the line got thicker or thinner (Learn stage). I created outlines on the lines and this kept the proportions correct, which could be useful for future projects where I need to use drawn objects (Learn stage).

A significant moment this week was to lay out my different prototypes better, as I tend to put them all over the page and it is harder to select the ones I like if everything is disorganised (Learn stage). It was significant in helping me to better evaluate my designs (Learn stage).

